Another Damn Personal Web Manifesto

If I had a nickel for everytime I saw someone express their distain for social media before immediately going back to it I'd be a millionare for just hearing myself do that alone. I think many of us agree that the modern internet is less fun than it might have been. Its become more utilitarian, people dont typically post things for fun or to express themselves anymore, now "content creation" is an actual job.

I was born so late in the 90s, I only just barely qualify to have any nostalgia for a pre-facebook internet. However, I still experienced it. I too had the Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire official MySpace theme.
I miss those days, and chances are, you do as well.

I have written this article as a way to present to everyone the personal web, the indie web, web0, or whatever stupid name you want to call it, regardless its a loose contingent of internet users going back to the days of personal web zones, forums, IRC, and web rings. Some even brought back the guestbook for some insane reason.

This isnt a movement, its clear that any attempt to make this a movement has failed miserably. This is better presented as an option, a way out if you will, away from social media and its all-consuming gaze.

From the short time I have been building my personal website and exploring the web outside the confines of the large corporate social media sites the happier I have been and I just want to share.

Whats great is the sites usually arent best on your telephone, thus I cant really use my mobile phone to browse the internet. I have to be very purposeful about what I put on the internet and where I go since it isnt used from my pocket as much anymore.

Each website is its own work of art. Campy over the top websites and beautiful aesthetically curated websites are all over. Just five minutes surfing through neocities sites has opened my eyes to aesthetic languages I had not even considered.

My motivation and urge to use websites like Twitter (I'm still not calling it X) have gone down considerably, which is good because that app makes me miserable.

Overall I have enjoyed my time on the personal web and I dont know if I want to leave, so join me, or don't, it doesnt matter really.

Stay Happy,
Manen